{"id":"CVE-2026-17073","kind":"vulnerability","aliases":["CVE-2026-17073"],"related":[],"title":"IBM i: missing subtree checks let local users read sensitive files","description":"IBM i 7.3, 7.4, 7.5, and 7.6 could allow a local attacker to obtain sensitive information due to missing subtree checks during file handle resolution.","summary":"IBM i versions 7.3 through 7.6 do not perform subtree checks when resolving file handles. A local attacker can use this to obtain sensitive information they should not be able to read.","severity":"medium","cvss":5.5,"epss":null,"exploited":false,"exploited_at":null,"products":[{"name":"ibm i","fixed":[],"affected":"= 7.3","ecosystem":"vendor"},{"name":"ibm i","fixed":[],"affected":"= 7.4","ecosystem":"vendor"},{"name":"ibm i","fixed":[],"affected":"= 7.5","ecosystem":"vendor"},{"name":"ibm i","fixed":[],"affected":"= 7.6","ecosystem":"vendor"}],"ecosystems":["vendor"],"tags":["ibm-i","infrastructure","power-systems"],"not_affected_if":["no-local-access"],"how_to_check":"- unknown","fix":"- unknown","status":"open","published_at":"2026-10-16T19:17:06+00:00","first_seen_at":"2026-10-23T21:57:14+00:00","triaged_at":"2026-10-25T04:14:06+00:00","updated_at":"2026-10-25T04:14:06+00:00","category":"infrastructure","confidence":0.6,"triage":{"at":"2026-10-25T04:14:06Z","model":"claude-haiku-5-5","output":{"fix":"- unknown","reach":"local","title":"IBM i: missing subtree checks let local users read sensitive files","impact":"medium","summary":"IBM i versions 7.3 through 7.6 do not perform subtree checks when resolving file handles. A local attacker can use this to obtain sensitive information they should not be able to read.","category":"infrastructure","nicknames":[],"who_cares":["ibm-i","power-systems"],"confidence":0.6,"needs_auth":"unknown","worst_case":"local user reads sensitive information from protected files","analyst_note":"Find IBM security bulletin for CVE-2026-17073 to get fixed PTF levels and any required configuration or auth details.","how_to_check":"- unknown","needs_analyst":true,"not_affected_if":["no-local-access"],"who_is_affected":"IBM i 7.3, 7.4, 7.5 and 7.6 systems where local users can log on or run code. Remote-only exposure is not described in the sources. Fixed versions and PTFs are not stated in the sources.","user_interaction":"no","needs_special_setup":"unknown","severity_if_unknown":"medium"},"cost_usd":0.000535,"input_tokens":3375,"output_tokens":396,"severity_before":"medium"},"analyst_status":null,"analyst_note":null,"search":"'-17073':14A,17A '-2026':13A,16A '7.3':36B,67C '7.4':68C '7.5':69C '7.6':38B,71C 'abl':62B 'allow':73C 'attack':50B,76C 'check':5A,43B,85C 'could':72C 'cve':12A,15A 'due':81C 'file':11A,46B,87C 'handl':47B,88C 'i':19A,21A,23A,25A 'ibm':1A,18A,20A,22A,24A,27B,33B,65C 'ibm-i':26B 'inform':57B,80C 'infrastructur':29B 'let':6A 'local':7A,49B,75C 'miss':3A,83C 'obtain':55B,78C 'perform':41B 'power':31B 'power-system':30B 'read':9A,64B 'resolut':89C 'resolv':45B 'sensit':10A,56B,79C 'subtre':4A,42B,84C 'system':32B 'use':52B 'user':8A 'version':35B","nicknames":[],"mitigations":[],"who_affected":"IBM i 7.3, 7.4, 7.5 and 7.6 systems where local users can log on or run code. Remote-only exposure is not described in the sources. Fixed versions and PTFs are not stated in the sources.","tier":"C","verified":{},"analyst_revisit_at":null,"first_public_at":"2026-10-16T19:17:06+00:00","kev":null,"cvss_vector":"CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:L/A:N","cvss_by":"psirt@us.ibm.com","poc_count":0,"sources":[{"source":"nvd","external_id":"CVE-2026-17073","url":"https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-17073","severity":null,"published_at":"2026-10-16T19:17:06+00:00","modified_at":"2026-10-23T15:56:41+00:00","first_seen_at":"2026-10-23T21:57:14+00:00","fetched_at":"2026-10-23T22:28:55+00:00","note":null}],"documents":[],"notice":"Free to read at a human pace. An API with keys and an MCP server are in preparation; early access: hello@infrastack.ai"}